Smoked mackerel risotto, Daryl Davis and CCTV

1. I barely got out of my pjs today. Great Sunday. I worked, though. A lot.

2. The best smoked mackerel risotto ever. Lemon makes everything better. It was exceptionally good.

3. Daryl Davis. His courage is monstrous. He sat down with a member of the KKK to talk, to try and figure out why somebody could hate him because of the colour of his skin. After years, the KKK dude renounced his ideology. Mr Davis’ documentary, Accidental Courtesy, is on Netflix. If you don’t have time, check his TEDTALK. It’s un-believable.

4. People who use ‘woke’ ironically. Honestly, until this week I hadn’t realised people use it unironically. I regret this loss of my innocence.

5. CCTV. The fact that there was actually CCTV footage to prove that the 9-year-old accused of groping a woman was in fact innocence. This stuff freaks me out. What would have happened to him if such footage didn’t exist? And that’s why you investigate claims rather than automatically believe all women. Because we’re humans and humans make mistakes.

Leave a comment