Pre-frontal cortex, gin & tonic and a very yellow necklace

Maybe some of the things I come up with may seem a bit shallow. And maybe they actually are shallow. But I believe that you must appreciate what you already have, even the little things, even the superficial things, that give you joy, that give you that spark to make you think that life after all isn’t so bad.

1. When you tell the truth and people respond: oh my god, me too! I object vehemently to the glorification if busy but also to this habit we have to pretend everything is fine. Why? We’re all ducks under the surface after all and pretending everything is fine will simply contribute to people doubting themselves when they struggle, questioning whether they are inadequate for feeling definitely not fine.

2. The pre-frontal cortex that can sometimes stop you from doing stupid things and sometimes saying stupid things. I like my pre-frontal cortex.

3. Gin & Tonic. Which is possibly the opposite of the pre-frontal cortex I mention above but at least makes social situations slightly more bearable and me, less of an idiot. I live in terror of saying something stupid. The husband says that I’m a great networker but he’s contractually obliged to say that (it’s in the marriage vows). I dread a watermelon moment.

4. A yellow necklace. This one I found in a street market in Puglia, in the south of Italy a couple of years ago and it’s very yellow. It’s made of Thai silk I think.

5. Avocado on toast. Is this the most hipster thing I’ve ever been grateful for? Probably, but the only problem I see with avocado on toast is that it’s never big enough to satisfy my craving. Today one with feta and avocado and harissa and coriander on sourdough bread was particularly good. I ended up eating one and a half portions.

You like?

Leave a comment